The Precious Metal Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Go down
Higgins94

Hobby to a profession?? Empty Hobby to a profession??

Mon Mar 07, 2022 10:08 pm
hi, have been facinated by gold + silver since i was a child and metal in general has played a big part in my life (im a welder + keen metal detectorist)
i have for the last couple of years been messing around with a homemade foundry, i have cast a few 1oz sterling silver bars, a couple of 999 gold bars and countless aluminium ingots, i have also done some refining (also very interested in chemistry) - i love it, it has become somewhat of an addiction haha.
how would i go about turning it into an occupation? if i wanted to sell bullion that i have cast would i be required to register with any organisation? would my bullion need to be tested for quality ? or could i just punch it with a serial number, fineness mark and logo and sell ?
any info would be greatly appreciated
cheers

Admin likes this post

The Cat's Mother
The Cat's Mother

Hobby to a profession?? Empty Re: Hobby to a profession??

Tue Mar 08, 2022 10:14 am
Hello and welcome to the Forum @Higgins94 . We have members who are much better qualified than I am to help you with this and I'm sure they will be more than happy to help. I tend to wear gold and silver rather than cast it, and would advise that from a purchaser's perspective the more guarantees there are the better. Where precious metals are concerned that means hallmarks (in the UK) even when they might not be strictly required by law. @AceBullion is your man to tell you all about that, and he's very ready to help.

Admin likes this post

Admin
Admin
Admin
https://www.thepreciousmetalforum.com

Hobby to a profession?? Empty Re: Hobby to a profession??

Wed Mar 09, 2022 7:25 am
welcome in Higgins, I believe you came over from my other group if I am right??? the FB group

I noticed the refining, hence giving away the mystery.