The Precious Metal Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Go down
dlnewlf
dlnewlf
https://thebookofjuan.com

Milking on Newly Acquired Coins Empty Milking on Newly Acquired Coins

Wed Aug 09, 2023 10:12 pm
I recently purchased the following 1 oz silver coins from an online dealer:

• 2023 Australian Kangaroo

• 2023 Australian Koala

• 2023 British Royal Mint Coronation

• 2023 British Britannia King Charles Coronation

• 2023 British Royal Arms

• 2023 Chinese Panda

4 of the 6 coins arrived with milk spots on the obverse and reverse. Only the Koala and Panda (both which come in mint-sealed capsules) arrived in mint condition as advertised. I'm a bit disappointed because the coronation coins are limited mintage and the Kangaroo is the last Queen Elizabeth coin in that series. I've been collecting coins for about 14 months now and these are the first coins in my growing collection to have any kind of defects or milking. What are the ramifications of the milking on the coin value?

Admin likes this post

SilverTrader
SilverTrader
Sponsor
https://www.silvertrader.uk/

Milking on Newly Acquired Coins Empty Re: Milking on Newly Acquired Coins

Wed Aug 09, 2023 11:06 pm
HI DineWfl,
It does not change the amount based on the silver price which when it comes to standard bullion coins is what dealers would be working off when you come to sell
but obviously collectors or normal people who might buy them might not offer as much
Sadly  its normal nowadays for the coins to be milking up expecially from the royal mint
I was pleasantly surprised about the quality of the charles coronation & coronation britannia's it was much better than the usual terrible quality of the royal coat of arms for example but they are still milking up as quickly as you look at them
the australian kangaroo also has milking issues but not anywhere near as bad